Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cement Hauling

WesVanderMartin Guest

Cement Hauling

We transfer cement from our Port Terminal to another terminal about 10 miles away. We currently use pneumatic bulker trailers. Is there much difference in how fast bulker trailers unload, and if we were to upgrade to newer trailers could we save time? Our current trailers are old but in good shape and have 4" discharge pipes. I know that some of the newer trailers have 5" piping, which I would think would make a difference.

2. Pneumatic Road Tankers

I have no detailed experience of pneumatic tankers but would expect that the trailer suppliers would advise on the discharge rates on new vehicles, and possible difference in trailer capacity. Obviously, any saving on site turn-around in discharge time should be weighed against the total trip time and the respective priorities and savings. Perhaps another consideration is whether the existing trailers could be modified if there are significant benefits to be gained. There is also the cost of site alterations of pipes and checking that the filters and blowing capacity is suitable for any up rating. Should facilities be made to accommodate a different pipe size, the question arises as to whether the original facility should be retained. I believe that a 4-inch Unicone connection and piping are a common standard for most existing pneumatic road tankers, and could other vehicles at some time require to discharge?

I am sorry that I cannot contribute more expertise in this instance. It would however, appear to be more of a management and accounting problem than an awkward technical question, so I trust that the relevant data on performance and costs will be available from manufacturing supplies to allow an analysis that will satisfy your query.

Lyn Bates

have you thought of pipe conveyors over the 10km distance??

Dennis Hauch - Freeport, TX, USA Guest

Cement Transfer

Wes,