Thread: Design Criteria for Belt Conveyors

Criterias for a basic conveyor belt design

dear sirs,
    i 'm new member n was refering to mr.anand's article...i'm having a similar problem too..i'm a student currently pursuing a degree in mech engineering in one of the universities in my country...i need some expert opinions in 'basic' conveyor belt design...parts that i need to emphasize are the gearbox, shaft and pulley...pliz provide me some specific guidelines to get started......thanks

Lawrence K. Nordell

Lawrence K. Nordell

President and CEO

Conveyor Dynamics Inc. [eDir]

Conveyor Dynamics Inc.

Professional Experience 57 Years / 11 Month Lawrence K. Nordell has 57 Years and 11 Month professional experience

Discussions 2608 Lawrence K. Nordell acceded to 2608 discussions, Articles 0 Lawrence K. Nordell wrote 0 articles, Publications 0 Lawrence K. Nordell Nordell released 0 publications

Searching nothing specified

Know-How Design (1521) Lawrence K. Nordell used this tag 1521 times, Pipe Conveyor (238) Lawrence K. Nordell used this tag 238 times, Chutes (119) Lawrence K. Nordell used this tag 119 times

Design Criteria for Belt Conveyors

Carloz:

You question is vast and not to specific to give a good response.

Your quest will be difficult, if you wish to be thorough. A good design criteria for each basic component will take about 5-20 pages of details that cover:
    1. Environmental factors
    2. Duty cycle & life cycle
    3. Mechanical system design and components criteria
    4. Materials of constuction
    5. Safety factors - mech., thermal, nominal, momentary;duration
    6. Manufacturing controls including QC/QA
    7. Maintenance including procedures and tools
    8. Instrumentation - protection including alarms and shutdown
    9. Warranties
    10. Spares treament
    11. Shipping & packaging
    12. Service shedules and materials
    13. Identifying tag treatment including drawings assembies, etc.